17684327Confession time – I’ve never read anything by J.K. Rowling. Never read the Harry Potter series, never read Rowling’s first foray into adult literature with The Casual Vacancy.

When I picked up The Cuckoo’s Calling, I was excited and intrigued. A part of me was worried though that I wouldn’t end up liking this book. Boy, was I wrong! I devoured this book, I wanted to put everything on hold to sink into this story. I also immediately wanted to pick up the next in the series, which isn’t released until June 24th.

I really enjoy a detective novel, I loved The Maltese Falcon, get a kick out of Sherlock Holmes and love watching murder mysteries and ‘who done its’ on TV. The Cuckoo’s Calling was such an intriguing read. It had great descriptions of place and characters and I felt through out the whole story that I was in London, visiting all the places Cormoran Strike was taking me.

Speaking of Cormoran, what a great character! He was real and down to earth. He was strong, although battered and wasn’t the typical shinny, handsome detective. Instead he felt so much like a real man you’d meet on the street and want to be friends with. He was intelligent, heartfelt, caring and insightful.

I loved his blossoming friendship with Robin, how it started rough and grew to respect and a definite fondness. Robin was a character that took a bit warming up. She wasn’t exactly off putting, but a bit needy, I found. Needy of responses from her fiance and Strike and unhappy when she wasn’t acknowledged to the extent she expected. It was kind of annoying at first, but I could see how these traits fit with her personality and her growth by the end of the novel.

The story itself was a great murder mystery. It was clean and fresh and exciting in the sense that readers really were taken through the process step by step. Everything that Strike had to calculate and detect and figure out, readers were there to witness.

Readers are brought into a glamourous, high flying lifestyle of famous model Lula Landry, thought to have committed suicide on a cold January night. Not so according to her devoted adoptive brother who is determined to bring his sister’s killer to justice. And so, we’re wrapped in this mystery of a woman the whole world thought they knew, but no one really knew at all. We hear tales of Lula’s life from all different perspectives and characters and it only helps in making the reader more invested.

I can’t say enough good things about this read. I’ve given this review a few days to get my thoughts together, but I’m not sure they even are or will be soon. All I can really say is that I loved it and can’t wait to invest myself in the next book, The Silkworm.

If you love J.K. Rowling, or mystery novels or just a great read to sink your teeth into, pick up The Cuckoo’s Calling. A clever story to get invested in. Still feeling the book withdrawal.

3 thoughts on “The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

  1. Woohoo! I was looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this and I’m so glad you liked it! I’m in a bit of a book slump right now so maybe I should pick this up and get myself out! Lovely review as per usual :).

Leave a Reply

